Skip to content

A Fantastic Post Everyday!

Just the best blog on WordPress.com

Recounting my restaurant experiences

Hello. Good to see you today. This is my third post and I have been slacking. sort of. Allow me to explain. Today I sat at home wasting time and watching War and Peace based off of a large, Russian novel and starring the beautiful Audrey Hepburn. Thus, as you may have already concluded, I did not write in my notebook. Things like this happens, and will happen in the future. Here’s how I will compensate.

Last night I dined with my friends at California Pizza Kitchen (CPK) which is a nice restaurant. Blatantly, it is just ok. But here’s what I compiled from that restaurant about what my restaurant pet-peeves. Herewegoooooo:

1.) Bread and Butter Temperature: We’ve all encountered this one. Firstly, the bread MUST be warm, or at least room temperature. Secondly, the butter must be room temperature, which it seldom is, and not hard or god forbid, embedded with ice particles. Otherwise, you can’t spread the butter evenly onto the bread and sometimes you get an awkward clump that digs into the bread and seriously ruins your appetite.

2.) Paper Coasters: Don’t get me started, just… ugh. Paper coasters are the worst. Let me tell you why! Let’s pretend, hypothetically, you order a glass of water. The glass of water (with a lovely lemon wedge!) arrives and you enthusiastically make way it. The waiter kindly lays down a coaster in front of you. No problem right? But here’s where the horror happens. She places the water on top of the coaster, and the condensation drips and STICKS to the paper coaster, leaving you with a mini accordian when you go and pick up your cup (if that coaster happens to be a folded napkin in square form). What an awkward and annoying situation this would be during a date! Please restaurant owners and managers reading this: DITCH THE PAPER COASTERS! and buy decent plastic ones.

3.) Paper Straw Wrappers: These babies will keep your straws nice and sanitized, but imagine what would happen if you left them in the hands of hungry, bored customers? Absolute terror! First we would roll them up, the shred them, then play magic tricks with them, then use them as fake snow and guess where all those little pieces of straw wrappers go? On the floor, for the next customer to walk on, especially if the floor is carpeted. Advice to restaurant people: take those wrappers away immediately after your customers are done with them!

4.) THE DILEMA: Here’s a problem I always need to deal with. I almost finished with my plate of pasta (I can finish an entire supersized plate of pasta) but there’s a decent amount left. Do I a.) finish it, because I’m not completely satisfied or b.) take it home because if I eat more and can’t finish it, there’s no point in boxing it. The answer is up to you!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

